Winter Wonder-Ass

I’m not a winter person.  This is why I’ve chosen to remain in the glorious South to which I was born.  Days in triple digit heat, I can handle.  Hell, I even enjoy the slow baking sensation of an August afternoon.  All anyone needs to survive summertime is a sun hat, sun block, a spot of shade for your daily siesta, and a large supply of sticky sweet tea.  That’s it!  Winter?  That’s a whole different ball game….a hellish, bizarre, absurd, how-do-you-people-live-like-this ball game.

Once temperatures begin to fall below sixty degrees I get a little twitchy.  That’s alright.  A jog on a brisk morning can be invigorating and I switch from flip flops and mini-skirts, to sneakers and pants, no big deal.  When temperatures drop below fifty degrees I get downright pissy.  Windows must be layered with insulation, faucets must drip through the night, pipes bust at 3AM as temperature drops below freezing.  I have to unpack the box in the back of my closet to pull out my one winter coat, two pair of thick boot socks, and gloves.  I don’t own winter clothes.  What’s the point?  Eight months out of the year it’s gauzy blouses, tank tops, short shorts, and mini skirts because anything touching your skin causes you to break out in a light sweat.

So what do I do for winter?  I throw a coat over my summer clothes, pull out extra quilts, and pray for it to be over; all the while muttering my mantra….”This is ridiculous.”  I lay shivering in the night, listening to the unsettling rattle of a space heater that’s collected dust for the last eight months and smelling the suspicious burning odor of electric heat.  I wake in the morning, debating how long I can hold my bladder before I have to leave the comfort of my covers for the mad dash to an ice cold toilet seat, which inevitably induces an enraged yowl that alerts my roommates that the warrior princess is up and on her morning rampage.

The worst part about winter, is the loss of sunshine.  Sure, there are sunny days, but the cold is so bitter and I’m wearing so many clothes, that it’s nurturing light seldom touches my skin.  Luckily, I live in a region of the South famous as a meteorological vortex in which the laws of quantum mechanics dictate that it is both sunny and cloudy, rainy and clear, summer and winter, simultaneously….Texas.  Today temperatures rose to about 60, the sun beamed down in all it’s golden glory, and I wasted no time stripping down, grabbing a book, and laying out buck naked in the back yard.  I wallowed in the luxury of heat, hoping the light’s reflection off my winter pale ass would not be blinding to any aircraft en route to DFW airport.

As I lay there, absorbing my cherished sunlight, I could feel the solar energy seeping through my skin and evicting the cold that had taken root in my body the last few weeks.  I wished for some way to store the light and heat for days to come as the forecast is predicting gray skies with temperatures in the twenties for the next week.

Normally I sit in half lotus position to perform a working as this feels the most natural position for my body to root the base of my spine into the earth and open my crown to the sky.  This time, however, it felt important to spread my body fully before the light of the sun, exposing as much skin as possible for the working.  I cast a small, quick circle around my sunning blanket, threaded my fingers into the cool grass as an anchor, and centered myself.  Through meditation I stretched my third eye up into the sky towards the source of daylight and heat.  I welcomed the fiery white energy down through me and into my body.  I wove it into my hair, painted my skin golden with it, poured it into my blood, and filled my bones with its brilliant light as I whispered…

b071252d50db0606d9d3191118d363e9

Sun I seek you, clouds no more,
Sky now is an open door.
In my body, find ye rest
Beyond your fall to the West.
Your light and heat now fill my form
For days to come shall not be warm.
Through ice and snow, my company
Is your soft glow. So mote it be.

It’s important to cast a protective circle before invoking this invitation in order to avoid inviting anything but the pure, warm energy of sunlight.  It does not need to be amplified with tools, symbols, herbs, or stones because the infusion you want is gentle and slow so as to avoid over charging your body or burning.  This is a powerful source we’re working with.  Seek only a tender, soft saturation.  Be careful to pull the energy in through the base of your spine, allowing it to steep in your core and spread slowly through your limbs.  Root the heat in your bones.  You don’t want it circulating haphazardly through your body causing headaches and mood swings.  It’s more likely to dissipate quickly this way, too.

If another sunny, warm day comes quickly, before all your solar energy has dissipated out naturally, be sure to return the energy to the sun, especially if you intend to repeat the process.  Sit outside in half lotus, palms upward, and offer the light back to the sun with gratitude, allowing the energy to flow out through your hands.

Always take time to thank the sun for lending you it’s warmth and light.  You can make an offering of the appropriate herbs and flowers, though those are in short supply in the cold of winter.  I like to make a pomander with an orange and cloves and hang it in a sunny window.  It can also be as simple as tying a red or yellow ribbon on a tree branch in your yard, kneeling in the light, and sending a brief prayer of thanks.

Love and light to you all….and beware all DFW bound aircraft.  I’m sure it will be some time before my winter white rear turns peachy again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

